Damned Good Dad.

Sometimes, you’ve just got to ring your own bell. Yes, I am a damned good Dad. I am always embarrassed when others tell me ( and I get told I am a good Dad frequently ), but hey, I guess I am !!

The one thing that I think makes me a good Dad above all else, is that I am always there for my son.  If he wants to talk, I am there. We go shopping together, we go outdoors to amazing places and explore, in fact, the very few times I have had a day away from him ( about 4 days since he was born over 6 years ago ), I have always been missing him, as we do everything together.

And then I took him away from his very violent and abusive mother when he was only 2. I could have stayed, like all the religious and 1950’s people insist you must stay together for the kids, but what sort of nutter would advocate keeping a child around a dangerous person ? How could that be good for a child ?

Now, I try my hardest to be the best dad possible for my son. It’s not always easy with the list of issues I have, and sometimes just getting myself out of bed and into the day is hard enough. But, I do. I do, because I have someone who is relying on me to do the best I can for them. He needs me to get him breakfast, he needs me to take him to school and pick him up. He needs me to be there to look after him. In all the 4 years we have been on our own, I have only stayed in bed once, and he missed kindergarten that day, because I was basically so ill I should have been in hospital. Luckily, he slept in, and when he did wake up, I was just able enough to get him breakfast, and then snuggle up on the couch with him for the day watching kids shows on the TV.

At this point, I have to say I have a damned good son too !! I do what I preach, and honesty is one of the qualities of a human that I put above most else. So, he knows Daddy has the issues he has. And, I can proudly say, that when he knows I am struggling, he is one of the most compassionate people I know. He looks after me too. I couldn’t imagine life without him. In fact, he saved my life. He was the reason I left 14 years of abuse at the hands of his mother. I just took all that abuse, as I thought that was my lot in life, but I wasn’t going to make it his as well. He’s my hero.

Anyhow, I must now go and make him some lunch, as he is at home from school today, recovering from a couple of days of being unwell, and after lunch, and the movie he has just put on, I think we will both have a nice cuddle and nap in my bed.

 

2 thoughts on “Damned Good Dad.

Leave a Reply

