I said I was going to sleep an hour ago…..

I really should have gone to sleep an hour ago.

Lot’s and lot’s has happened since I wrote last, but finding the time to write has been a huge deal. The main reason being, that I am currently having to drive the 19km to Mum and Dad’s place at 5am, to pick up Mum to take her to work, drive the 20kms into town, drive the 25km back to my house, and then at the end of her shift, do the reverse journey. This is because on the first day of the 6 week summer holidays, my Dad had a medical emergency, which resulted in him not being allowed to drive for, you guessed it, 6 weeks. So there goes my dreams of sleeping in every day for 6 weeks, instead of getting up to take the boy to school. Oh well, thems the breaks, as they say. Maybe the $55 million lotto draw tonight is mine ?

In all honesty, I don’t mind doing all this. Part of the reason I wanted to live here was to be close to Mum and Dad so that if they needed help like this, I was here, and if I needed help, they were near too. It’s all swings and roundabouts.

The past week my Fibromyalgia has really flared up badly, but up until now, I have been doing pretty well to be honest. Apart from the regular daily need to sleep during the day due to the fatigue, the pain levels have been manageable. But this past week, the pain has been almost intolerable. I hope it settles down soon.

My manic depression has been a dream recently, I would normally be on a bit of a downer now, but I feel fine. It seems the medications are just right, along with my other management strategies, and everything is working. After the previous 8 or 9 months of slow decline, I am really happy that we have managed to find the right balance with minimal medication. I will say though, if I am out by even 2 hours with taking the meds, I take a big dive, so as you can see, we have it finely balanced.

One of medications I am taking is the one I used to take, but instead of 300mg twice a day, I am on 50mg once a day. This drug caused a lot of weight gain, so I was very wary of going back onto it, but amazingly, since I have been on this lower dosage, I have still managed to keep my weight loss going.

So we have had Christmas, and the New Year, our Christmas was a gathering for a couple of days at my parents place, with the 2 of them, my son and myself, and my brother. We do a traditional Aussie Christmas, cold chook, ham and other cold meats, several salads, and a dessert, this year it was berry nice fruit salad, full of Strawberries, blackberries, grapes, pineapple and apple, with whipped cream. It kept us going for Christmas lunch, Christmas dinner, and lunch on Boxing Day !!!!

New Years, my son and I went to the local fireworks display, after having a nap for a few hours beforehand, as we had to take Mum to work on New Years day at 5am, and he donned our glow sticks and met up with some of my sons friends, and they all run amok for 20 minutes before and after the fireworks. Was great fun really.

209

( one of my photos on New Years )

I am glad 2016 is over. It has been a year of many ups and downs, to be frank, it has been hard work. I am looking forward to 2017, with most of the medical stuff diagnosed and mostly sorted, I reckon it will be a lot better than last. I can only hope.

I hope you all have a great 2017.

Leave a Reply

