Cold, Rainy Day.

The past couple of days have been cold. I mean put the heater on cold. Well, it’s not too bad during the middle part of the day, for a few hours, but it is cold in the morning, and then by about 4pm, heater time again. This is supposed to be Summer. It’s February, the hottest month of the year. Last year, it was mostly consistently above 30 degrees Celsius at this time, but not this year. We have been having cooler and cooler weekends, and a scorcher on a Wednesday, before going back to cold for the next weekend.

I hate the cold for many reasons, it makes my Fibromyalgia play up, the pain and fatigue in unison gets worse. The arthritis, especially in my neck and hands, flares up something cruel. And when it’s cold, I eat more, especially if it’s raining and I am cooped up inside. I really wish I could find a place where it maybe got to 18-20 degrees at night and up to about 25 to 30 during the day, all year round. Not too hot, not too cold, sort of like Goldilocks weather.

The other really shitty thing about days like this, which in only a month or so will be every bloody day, is that a lot of the myriad of ideas I have involves being outside to do them. So cold weather even stuffs up my ability to control my Manic Depression by keeping myself active working on projects. It’s funny, my Mum was saying something the other day in a totally unrelated conversation, about having heaps of ideas but not quite finishing them, in relation to Manic Depression. I do eventually finish them, but most of the time they would be finished straight away if the weather was conducive to be outdoors.

One project that I really need to get a move on with, that is actually an inside thing, is to replace the print head on my large format printer, and see if that fixes it. I keep procrastinating with this one, because it is fiddly, small spaces to work, and I have big hands and fingers. And I just have to be in the right frame of mind to do it.

I also have a Canon point and shoot camera that needs attention, I replaced the lens unit after my son dropped it on a hard floor and stuffed the original lens unit, but a few of the functions still aren’t working, it takes photos ok, but it won’t zoom properly, I think it is because a ribbon cable isn’t aligned properly, so another job to be in the right frame of mind to complete.

One glimmer of positivity is, that once I run a bit of furniture wax over my brothers new table, which I have been building for him over the past 2 or 3 weeks, it will be finished. I then need to get some new wheels for my trailer, I have got new hubs and bearings, with a different stud pattern to the what is on it right now ( 1 rim is dangerously rusty, and the rims are very early Holden rims, which are a rare stud pattern, so nearly impossible to get rims for ). Once that is done ( needs to be done before Easter ), I will deliver it to him in Melbourne.

Anyhow, I have just about got my mental energy down to a level where sleep should come easily, so I must bid you adieu and go to bed.

Leave a Reply

