A Rainy Day

Well, it is very inclement outside right now. It is so dark, at 10.30am in the morning, the street lights are still on. It is rainy very heavily. I just went out and checked my workshop, because it is prone to flooding, and sure enough, there is about an inch of water lying through it. Because I know this will happen when we get heavy, or prolonged rain, I have it set up so it’s not an issue, the only issue being that I probably won’t be able to do anything in there for a couple of days. Oh well, not that I have any major projects underway right now anyhow. I will in a couple of weeks time, but that’s ages away.

One surprising aspect of this current deluge is that it is not cold. Even in the middle of summer, when it rains here, it turns into winter for the day. Not this time. I am loving having the windows open, letting the smell of fresh rain permeate every nook and cranny of the house, and the sound of the falling rain on the roof is so soporific. I am glad I earnt that reward my son gave me for today, I am doing diddly squat, and am currently watching music videos. Later I may settle in for one or two of the movies I can’t watch when he is around, that I have collected but not yet watched. Right now I am patiently waiting for the kettle to boil, so I can make a nice steaming coffee, and dunk a few biscuits in, so I can enjoy the delight of coffee soaked biscuit.

I’m not feeling the greatest chronic illness wise today, but having a day of peaceful rain on the roof, no housework that urgently needs doing, and some movies to watch, I should be able to get through.

Leave a Reply

