Did I actually just do that ????

In my foggy mind this morning, still suffering from sleep deprivation because of pain, I actually did something I vowed I’d never do. I can’t believe it, let alone now sitting here writing about it. Yes, I am embarrassed, but at the same time, it couldn’t have been any other way. You want to know what I did ??

I drove my son to school and dropped him off in my pajamas and dressing gown !

Yes, you heard correct, yes, I did that.

It was just so cold this morning, and before I managed to have a strong, no, REALLY strong coffee this morning, I was basically in a daze, knowing I needed to be up, knowing I needed to get my son ready and off to school, but between the cold and the pain, I just couldn’t manage to get dressed before it all had to happen.

I have a morning routine that I can do on auto pilot. I get up, go to the kitchen, assemble all my pills together, take them (if I don’t do this first, I will forget), fill the kettle and put it on the stove, put 2 teaspoons of instant coffee and a teaspoon of sugar into my mug, put 4 pieces of bread into the toaster, and while waiting for both those to do their thing, I get my sons clothes for the day laid out on his bed. I then wake him, just in time for the coffee and toast to be ready, sit down and eat and drink while watching ABC News Breakfast, go to the loo, prompt my son to wash his face, clean his teeth and get dressed, then do his reader, get dressed myself, and then out the door to school.

Well, I just couldn’t do the get dressed thing today. I put on socks, and my slip on sneakers, but the idea of taking off my warm pajamas, putting on cold clothes while standing around naked and cold, just didn’t have me enthused today. So I made a choice. I slipped on my dressing gown, and out the door. I didn’t need to get out of the car at the school, and didn’t need to stop anywhere else, so damn it, I did it. No, I’m not proud of it, but there was no other way today. I am still sitting here in my PJ’s and dressing gown !!

I will have to get dressed eventually today though. My son has his school cross country run today, and I need to be there. I still have about 3 hours before that happens, so I guess for the next 2 hours, I will stay as I am. I feel lazy, but hey, who bloody cares. It’s not as though I did it all butt naked. If that happens, well then I think we need to worry about that !!!

One thought on “Did I actually just do that ????

Leave a Reply

