Facebook is really a bit of a wank too.

So I laid into online dating a few posts back, this time Facebook is in the firing line. It really is a bit of a wank. Yes it helped me through a rough time at one point. I was isolated, scared of being out in public, felt like I had no friends where I lived, you know, all that stuff that is actually all still there in all honesty. It made me feel connected to others in some way. I was, actually. But things have changed. The only people who seem to interact are a small group of 4 people, both my parents, my brother and my Aunt. I watch and like things my other 28 Facebook friends post about their lives and beliefs, offer support, you know, what any friend would do. But we come down to my posts, the same basic stuff they share. Not a single like, nothing.

Now, I decided to write this, rather than stir shit by putting up a post saying something like, “I’m about to top myself”, or something else so extreme and absurd, just to see if anyone, other than the aforementioned 4 would respond, but decided no, that’s probably a bit over the top. In saying that though, I spent 2 hours one night in the wee hours of the morning talking one of them out of doing it. You see, I think that’s the difference, I give a shit, they don’t. They want me to give a shit about their lives, their causes, the times when live brings them down, but they couldn’t give a rats about me. There are 2 types of people in this world, Takers, and the highly outnumbered Givers. I reckon the ratio of Givers to Takers would be about 1 in every 1000.

Yes, I am down, I literally fell down half an hour ago, my office chair deciding that the weight of myself and my son was finally too much after 50 million times of him coming and seeing me every 2 minutes, forcing himself onto my knee. I hurt my arm trying to stop ( and successfully I might add ) the chair and myself crushing his leg. My neck also hurts more than it already did, which was pretty bad already. My chronic health conditions are flaring with the weather. Things are actually quite shitty, to be honest. But do any of these people who call themselves my friends give a shit ? Very few I guess. I guess I will find out in the morning, after this posts automatically to my Facebook profile, and if they bother even reading it, which my guess is they probably won’t, but if on the off chance they do, they’ll probably de-friend me, honestly, their loss, not mine, because I actually give a shit about them, but they will be mortified that I have worked out they don’t give a shit about me, more for the embarrassment than actually giving a shit that I noticed.

See, I don’t get onto Facebook to have 10,000 “friends”, nearly all of whom I don’t even know, I am on there to have contact with the outside world, that’s why I am on there. I have about 30 Facebook friends, ALL of whom I know outside of Facebook. But the “connection” seems to be terminating, because there isn’t one there anymore. Maybe I should make up a fantastical name, post pretty pictures of kittens and flowers, and inane quotes, like a picture of a sunflower and the words ” the Sun is shining –  unknown”. I mean fuck, is that what the world has come to ? You get more attention by posting a picture of a baby giraffe than actual happenings in your life ??

Okay, I know social media is an escape, probably escapism at it’s best, but for some, it is a lifeline to the outside world. Don’t ignore people you decide to accept or request as friends. Every person on this planet goes through shit at some time or another in their lives. Don’t turn your back. What happens when it’s your turn for the shit to hit the fan ?

Leave a Reply

